Spring has Sprung and Pop Bottles are Riz

Spring has never been my favourite season. I love the pristine stillness of winter, the frenzy of fall festivities in preparation for the winter and advent seasons. Summer I tolerate, but Spring … I could do without.

The raw, sharp fragrance of animal excrement, the moldy, musty leaf smell, the brown, slurppy mud …

I love snow!

Is there a Canadian kid that doesn’t love winter? I remember living in northern Germany, the climate akin to temperate England, waking one morning to a white world.  My mother and grandmother scurried about finding suitable clothes and bundling me up.

“Schnell, Schnell!” my grandmother told my mother. “Dress her quickly so she can play in the snow before it melts!”

My first winter in Canada, snow was everywhere, mountains of it. Snow meant tobogganing, skiing, skating, building snow forts in drifts, amassing snowballs for battle, my father hitching up the neighbourhood kids’ sleds to his old station wagon and careening down the streets with us, and those snuggly snow days from school.

Here and now:  It is light until after dinner, the snow is no longer holding, a thin crust had formed over my habitual paths from afternoon melts, and today I broke through the icy top layer and sank in up to my hips several times.

After pulling my bootless foot out of a hole, and then using all my strength to dislodge my boot, I decided to continue my walk on the road.

Along the road, the snow melt has revealed an accumulation of pop bottles, beer cans, as well as chip and other snack food bags. There was not a stretch of more than a foot without an item of litter.

I remember years ago, returning from a summer vacation in the Carolinas, passing by New York City. Garbage and litter were piled high along the beltway. New York has a population of millions. How could a small town produce this much garbage?

Bring back winter!  LET IT SNOW!!!!

3 thoughts on “Spring has Sprung and Pop Bottles are Riz

  1. You must be delirious – let it snow? We, down south, are preparing our gardens! Last year the late frost in May ruined the cherry and apple blossoms. We don’t want that to happen again. So, take it back!
    You could also pack up your camper and come home – we all miss you. But if you did that, we wouldn’t have your wonderful insights into the native way of daily life, and that would be a shame since most of us will most likely never get to visit up there.

    • I wouldn’t want it to snow over Ivy Lea!

      I don’t profess to have any insights into Cree Culture. It is not my world and not my place to do so.
      I am a visitor here and a guest, and can only offer my observations from a very limited view.
      So I can only write about what I see, hear, and taste (yummy fry bread!).

  2. I’m an autumn person, although I do love winter if I am out of the city. The solitude, the magnificent silence – sometimes I would wake up, throw on my boots and wrap a blanket around my shoulder, and just stand outside, a cup of hot tea in my hands – experiencing the winter in all it’s pristine glory. But in small doses…
    Otherwise give me the crisp days of October and early November, with the scent of dropped leaves and wood smoke on the breeze!

Leave a Reply

