Girls Just Want to have Fun

Today was a pedagogical day. The teacher didn’t need me, so I took Friday off.

We have small living quarters and must coordinate our activities. We try not to clash pots and pans when the other is watching TV. Every sound is heard in every room. Today I had the place to myself.

Andy went to work in the morning, so it was a perfect day for girl time.

I slept late, read (currently: Pencils of Promise), made some scrambled eggs (loudly) and painted my toenails. Then I made a large pot of tea and settled down for a few episodes of “Call the Midwife”. It is a period BBC drama of a group of midwives in the East End of London in the 1950’s as recounted in a memoir with the same title.

I love the 50s clothing, the propriety, dresses that were pretty, carefully laid tables, tidy little hats and lacquered hairstyles.

So nice to have some girl time!

2 thoughts on “Girls Just Want to have Fun

Leave a Reply

